OFSTED Nov 2015 Summary of key findings for parents.

This provision is OUTSTANDING... 

The childminder provides a highly stimulating and welcoming environment with an excellent range of resources and activities both indoors and outdoors. Children are highly motivated and make excellent progress in relation to their starting points. 

 Children learn to take risks within a safe environment. The childminder teaches children how to keep themselves safe. For example, children cut up their own fruit and she practises evacuation drills with children, and they remain extremely safe in her care.

 The childminder promotes children's well-being. She gathers detailed information such as their likes, dislikes, photographs of their families, what they already know and can do. She uses this to help them experience a smooth move into her care. 

 The childminder has a professional approach to a continuous programme of development for herself and her assistant. She has a critical self-analysis and determination to continuously improve, which is reflected in the service she provides. 

 The childminder is an excellent role model. She encourages children of all ages to share and take turns and display excellent manners. Children learn how to be kind to each other and expertly manage their own behaviour. 

 Extensive and accurate observations and assessments are effectively carried out to identify the next steps in children's learning. This helps the childminder to enable them to make outstanding progress in relation to their starting points.

 Fantastic childminder Gayle has looked after my daughter since she was 12 weeks old and is now nearly 3. Everyday is a fun day and learns something new everyday highly recommend Gayle for childcare

 We moved to Maidstone recently and My son Charlie (2 years old) started with Gayle and it's made the transition so easy. She is a warm and lovely person to the children and dedicated to following education and development as well as providing a safe and fun environment to learn and play.

 Gayle provides excellent childcare and facilities, our child has been with her since she was approx 8 weeks old and loves every minute spent there, so much so that at home time she usually wants to stay. The kids enjoy lots of arts and crafts and Gayle provides not only daily feedback of activities taken place but also provides a term update with EYFS info showing child's progress. I would thoroughly recommend GLH to anyone looking for a caring and home environment for childcare.

Fantastic childcare, highly recommended, Gayle has been childminding my children for 10 years (2015)

 Our usual childcare had ended abruptly due to illness, and I contacted Gayle with a view to place M with her temporarily until our usual child minder returns to work.

Gayle has been very welcoming and has made this transition for M as smooth as possible.
M thoroughly enjoys attending the setting and looks forward to the different activities, which are well planned and, I would suggest, better than most nurseries provide.
M looks forward to Jo Jingles coming to sing and dance with the children on Thursdays, and also loves bringing home a reading book each week.
M always enjoys a healthy lunch at the setting, provided by Gayle who has been more than accommodating with regards to catering for M's allergies.
I am very impressed with the setting. In my opinion the organisation and thought that goes into the children’s’ week is outstanding. I have no doubt that M is in very good hands and her eagerness to attend confirms this. (Nov 2015)


Overall, the quality of the provision is outstanding. Children receive an excellent individualised service which is adapted to meet their needs. Children benefit from sensitive and very good support as they are each valued and treated with kindness and respect by the childminder. All children really enjoy their time with the childminder due to the interesting opportunities she organises and they are making very good progress in all areas of learning. The childminder organises her service so that she works closely with parents and thus promotes the welfare and development of all the children.

The childminder is highly skilled and uses her evaluative skills successfully. She is keen to continuously develop her practice and enable all children to benefit from the service she provides. The childminder has completed a variety of training and uses her experience and training effectively, delivering an enjoyable and challenging experience for all children. Children are well supported by the expertise of the childminder who provides parents with excellent information about their child's progress and the experiences they have in her care. Children's records note their individual needs and this information is used to ensure they receive high quality care and education which is adapted to suit individual needs.

 Gayle has looked after our daughter MH for 7 months (March- October 2011). We have been really happy with the quality of care that Gayle has provided for our daughter. M enjoys being in Gayle’s company and she has been treated as part of the family.

M has made amazing progress whilst in Gayle’s care. She’s often doing fun and educational indoor and outdoor activities with M and takes her to toddler groups enabling M to build up her social skills. Gayle has always encouraged M to be confident, kind, and compassion towards other children and adults and we’re pleased that our daughter is always happy and excited whenever she sees Gayle.

Gayle has shown professionalism in every aspect of her work. She has provided M with a happy, caring and safe home and has regularly informed us of M’s personal development as well as other important related matters verbally and through a daily contact book and this is very important to us as it keeps us very much involved in M’s daily routine. We are particularly impressed with her behaviour system in place as M responds to her calm, firm and fair approach.

Our daughter will miss Gayle as well as the friends she has made whilst in her care. We wish her all the best in the future. We recommend Gayle as a great and reliable childminder.


user rating

Gayle has very high standards and my children really enjoyed staying with Gayle.

Gayles rates are very reasonable and would recommend Gayle to anyone seeking a babysitter or childminder

by shane41 on Tue 02 Feb 2010 18:45pm

My son JB attended Gayle's setting for nearly 2 and 1/2 years.

In that time he thoroughly enjoyed going to her house both before and after school and during the school holiday's .

Gayle goes out of her way to care for the children in her care and their individual needs. She has a good rapport with her children.

She often arranges activities for the children both at home and out. J enjoyed many trips to the farm, a visit from a fire engine and museums.

I would recommend Gayle to any mother/father looking for childcare. The only reason we left is because of work commitments, otherwise J would have continued going for many more years.

S Bates July 2009

Gayle has childminded my son EK for over 2 1/2 years, from when he started school in reception class. During that time we have found Gayle to be thoroughly committed to the children in her care. She clearly enjoys her job and strives to provide a fun and interesting environment for the children. EK often comes home with pictures he's drawn, cakes he has baked or models he has made.

Gayle provided top quality care for our son which we are incredibly grateful. EK has always been happy to go to Gayles and speaks highly of his time with her. 

EK has thrived under Gayle's care and we both feel that he has made so much progress. His social skills and confidence have really improved significantly and I feel that Gayle's care of EK has been a major contributory factor in this.

I would not hesitate (and have done on a number of occasions) in recommending Gayle to other parents in need of childcare.

N Kesterton Jan 2010 

 I would like to recommend GLH Childminding. The 10 year old that I am responsible for has been going to GLH's after school and has been very comfortable and happy to walk to GLH's on her own and be there until I collect her when I finish work.. She has enjoyed playing with the younger children and also doing activities as well. She enjoys the healthy meals that GLH provides. I have no hesitation in recommending GLH as a childminder. by Beverley Carrier on Sat 09 Jun 2012

 Copyright © 2011 GLH Childminding Services©

I am writing to offer my thanks and appreciation for your professionalism towards the childcare of my son LF. Throughout the time LF spent with yourself he has always been taken care of in every aspect to the highest expectations. You have respected my wishes and needs for LF and have dedicated quality time with him to aid his progression in his development skills, from crawling and walking to feeding himself and talking. Highly aware and responsive of LF's needs from comforting to hygiene, it was always good to know he was never neglected. A journal of LF's day was always presented and was very informative. Your standards are exceptional and I would highly recommend your services to any parent. I do hope that you have continued success in this field as childcare at your high level is extremely sought after. It goes without saying that although LF is no longer in your care due to a change in my circumstances I would utilise your services on a adhoc basis.

May I take this opportunity in expressing my sincerest thanks for all you ahve done for LF and I do hope you remain in touch to see how the little man is getting on as I know he will miss you and the children.

Kindest Regards

F Gargett Nov 2008

Gayle has been my daughters childminder for over a year. My daughter AS has been extremely happy in Gayle's care. Gayle has been a very conscientious, caring and reliable childminder.

A AS' parents we were apprehensive about leaving AS with another person other than family but Gayle put us at ease and made AS very welcome within her home.

We were exceptionally pleased with the activities Gayle and the children did from painting to cooking, the fruit week Gayle did with the children was outstanding. AS being a fussy eater came home full of enthusiasm about trying new foods.

We wish Gayle every success in the future

Dr. J Singh July 2006 

 Lovely Childminder

user rating

My children are cared for by GLH Childminding when our regular childminder is not available.

They both settled very well on their 1st day and enjoyed playing with the other children.

I have no problem recommedning this childminder.

by OneofSeven on Mon 11 Jun 2012 13:07pm